One step at a time

One step at a time

Most people don’t know that if people want to be a model, then there are a lot of things they have to do first to prove they have what it takes. The hardest phase for everyone to go through though is rather unique to the industry. Before they are allowed to be models, they have to spend a whole year as a mannequin in a department store. Most don’t make it past 3 months, but those that do get the opportunity of a lifetime.

Although I have been in this store for over 20 years now. I was one of the first to become a piece of plastic for display back when the industry started doing this. Unfortunately the department store I was put in didn’t quite understand my situation and switched out almost all of my body parts including my body. And although I can still be restored, the company that I was going to work for didn’t recognize me with my new assets and just figured I’d given up and left.

At first it sucked to spend all my time as a hollow shell, but eventually I found it cool to watch all the models come and go. I’ve even gotten the chance to see quite a few famous ones pass through here as mannequins themselves.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

